

General Meeting Agenda

Date: June 8, 2022 Location: Butler Williams Lobby Time: 10:30 AM (next to police station)

Arterberry Latara P Ashmore Zac P Belcher Dominique P Boyett Nicole P Burt Julie P Butler Lateshia P Chesser Melanie P Corban Katie P Cory Jason P DeLoach Cindy A Dye Lisa P Guess Jeffrey A
Havelin Libbi P
Inmon Melissa P
Jelinkova Veronika P
Lasalle Kelly P
McAdory Jim A
Moody Sarah P
Mord Summer P
Northcutt Jessica A
Palmer Elizabeth A
Parker Suzanne A

Patton Kenner A
Ramsey Jordan P
Solis-McCoy, Chantel P
Standley Elizabeth P
Stevens Cristi P
Vanhorn John Michael P
Webb Anna P
White Ronnie P
Williams Catherine P
Wilson Nancy P
Wyman Lynn A

- **1. APPROVAL OF MAY FINANCIALS:** Jason Cory made a motion to approve the May financials with Elizabeth Standley providing the second. The motion passed by unanimous vote.
- **2. APPROVAL OF MAY MINUTES:** Jason Cory made a motion to approve the May minutes with Cristi Stevens providing the second. The motion passed by unanimous vote.

3. COMMITTEE REPORTS

- a) Chair Anna Webb
 - Master Plan and Develop Advisory Committee: no meeting
 - Alumni Association National Board: The board met however did not inform Anna so there is no update.
 - President's Executive Council: All policies that were sent out to staff council for review were approved.
 - Climate Study Working Group: The next meeting will be a Webex in July. At the last meeting of the groups the staff and faculty were the largest group represented. A document was developed with all

- information from all of the groups and sent to the working group to review and then will go to the VP for review. The survey should be distributed in September.
- Standing Committee Review Board: This group met and will have the next meeting on June 27th. The charge of the review board is to hold committees responsible for meeting and being accountable. Some committees may be combined or dissolved as an outcome.

b) Vice-Chair – Jason Cory

- Faculty Senate: next meeting in August
- Faculty Housing Appeals Committee: no meeting
- President's Committee on Planning: no meeting
- Information Technology Council: Plagiarism software will remain Turnitin due to their acquisition of another company. The cost will decrease for the next 3 year term from its current cost. An updated webex application will be available and pushed to devices this summer. Adobe Creative Cloud is available for employees and students at a cost of \$150 per user that will be charged to the department. Adobe sign is available to all MSU employees/students for free. Security regulations are becoming stricter and will include mandatory two factor sign in to all university computers and devices. Administrative rights to computers will be removed and only available to ITS.
- Blue Cross & Blue Shield of MS Foundation: no meeting

c) Events Committee Chair – Cristi Stevens

- Staff Appreciation Day: Staff Appreciation Day was a great success.
 There were numerous emails and personal comments on the day and events. Thank you to all who worked to make the day a success.
 There were suggestions by staff council to improve future events and if you have any additional suggestions, please email Cristi or Anna.
- We are looking at doing a fall sale of the clear bubble umbrellas as a fundraiser. These will be a bulk sale and no need to preorder.
- Fall sweatshirt sale is a possibility as a fundraiser for the staff scholarship fund. A comfort color sweatshirt will run \$28-\$30 and

- would potentially be a watercolor design of the skyline OPA provided last year. This would be a pre-order sale and the issues with the website would need to be corrected.
- We would like to acknowledge staff who have graduated with cookies or some small gesture but are needing to figure out how to make certain to capture the correct group.
- d) Policies and Procedures Committee Chair Lynn Wyman: no update
- e) Communications Committee Chair John Michael VanHorn
 - BullyWatch
 - Newsletter
 - Website, Facebook, Twitter: The summer project is to move the decommissioned Facebook page to an updated active status.
- f) Awards & Scholarships Committee Chair Elizabeth Standley
 - Department Donations/Fundraiser
 - Summer Awards: Summer application will open in July.

4. Ongoing Business

- a) 2022 Staff Development Conference Dec 14th: Planning will begin next month.
- **b)** New Member Nominations FY23: Emails have been sent to get nominations for new members.

c)

5. New Business

- a) SC Member Expectations and Requirements: As a reminder and refresher after Covid.
 - a) Members serve a 3 year term with the option to stay for an additional 3 year term. After 6 consecutive years, a member must sit out for a 3 year term.
 - b) All members are expected to serve on committees (university and/or staff council)
 - c) Members are expected to attend committee meetings and if unable to

- attend and the backup is unable to attend, it is important to inform the executive council so that representation is found.
- d) Staff council holds 11 general council meetings per year and members are expected to attend meetings in person. If an absence is necessary, the recording secretary should be notified prior to the scheduled meeting.
- **b)** Lunch provided by McAlisters.

11:24am adjourned

University Committee Assignments 2021-2022

University Committee Staff Council Representatives

Athletic Council: no meeting Ronnie White (Nicole Boyett)

Calendar Committee: no meeting Melissa Inmon (Jim McAdory)

Community Engagement Committee: restructuring Lateshia Butler (OPEN)

Melissa Inmon (OPEN) Conflict of Interest: no meeting

Dining Advisory Committee*: no meeting Zac Ashmore (Nancy Wilson)

Employee Benefits Committee: no meeting Melanie Chesser (Libbi Havelin)

Health and Wellness: no meeting Jordan Ramsey (Elizabeth Palmer)

Instructional Technology Advisory Committee: no meeting Julie Burt (Dominique Belcher)

Parking and Traffic Regulations Committee: no meeting Sarah Carpenter Moody (Latara Arterberry)

Byrd scooter contract was denied.

Performing Arts Committee: no meeting Suzanne Parker (Veronika Jelinkova)

Recreation Advisory Committee: no meeting Catherine Williams (Jordan Ramsey)

Satisfactory Academic Progress Committee*: Cindy DeLoach (OPEN)

Jason Cory is standing in currently. The first of approximately 8 batches of appeals were

delivered and contained 6 appeals for review.

Special Events & Game Day: no meeting Ronnie White (Sarah Carpenter Moody)

Sustainability Committee: no meeting Kenner Patton (Catherine Williams)

Traffic Appeals Committee: Veronika Jelinkova (Lisa Dye)

28 appeals in April, 29 appeals in May, and 2 appeals so far in June

Work-Life Balance Committee: Julie Burt (Summer Mord)

One issue that is being raised is possible options for tuition remission of single parent households. Information is being gathered from other universities. A webinar was offered for employees on

caring for aging relatives which received positive reviews from attendees.

^{*}not an official university standing committee

Staff Council Committee Assignments 2021-2022

Communications Committee

John Michael VanHorn – CHAIR

Dominque Belcher

Nicole Boyett

Sarah Carpenter Moody

Suzanne Parker

Cindy DeLoach

Policies and Procedures Committee

Lynn Wyman – CHAIR

Ronnie White

Latara Arterberry

Melanie Chesser

Nancy Wilson

Jim McAdory

Awards & Scholarships Committee

Elizabeth Standley – CHAIR

Veronika Jelinkova

Lateshia Butler

Elizabeth Palmer

Kenner Patton

Jordan Ramsey

Events Committee

Cristi Stevens – CHAIR

Julie Burt

Cedric Gathings

Lisa Dye

Libbi Havelin

Melissa Inmon

Zac Ashmore

Catherine Williams

Katie Corban

Chantel Solis-McCoy