

General Council Meeting Agenda

Date: August 11, 2021 Location: Sanderson Conference Time: 10:31 AM began Room (virtual option available)

- 1. APPROVAL OF JUNE MINUTES: Lynn Wyman made a motion to approve with Julie Burt providing the second. A vote was taken and the minutes approved.
- 2. APPROVAL OF JUNE/JULY FINANCIALS: Elizabeth Standley made a motion to approve with Jason Cory providing the second. A vote was taken and the financials approved.

3. COMMITTEE REPORTS

- a) Chair Anna Sparks
 - Master Plan and Develop Advisory Committee: no meeting
 - Alumni Association National Board: no meeting
 - Faculty Housing Appeals Committee: no meeting
 - President's Executive Council: Two operating procedures were updated that included the harassment definitions and the qualifications for teachers. It was also discussed that the university is looking to incorporation a disk golf course.
 - Conflict of Interest Committee: They only meet if human subjects are involved. At the last meeting, it was interesting to learn all that they do however, everything is very confidential.
- **b)** Vice-Chair Jason Cory
 - 2021-2022 Meeting Speakers: A discussion was held on the option to have speakers come to our meetings. It was noted that in the past this pushed meetings to become very long. A suggestion was made that we have one a year unless there is something that needs to be

- addressed by an invited speaker.
- · Faculty Senate: no meeting
- · President's Committee on Planning: no meeting
- Information Technology Council: New CTTO is hired and this will eventually cause a transformation with the IT council. Google drive is being decommissioned and moved to OneDrive. The College of Education is working with IT to find a solution due to the College relying heavily on Google Drive. ITS is working on several other issues such as migrating the firewall, finalizing new ID cards that cannot be duplicated outside of the university, and searching for a solution to the mail list management that needs replacing. ITS will be initiating an internal phishing initiative to bring attention and information to the dangers of opening emails that could be dangerous. The network refresh is approximately 74% complete. Jason requested that members send an "IT wish list" to him to present to the council at their next meeting. This will help determine the next items ITS will address.
- Blue Cross & Blue Shield of MS Foundation: no meeting
- c) Events Committee Chair Cristi Stevens
 - Fall Events: Chick fila biscuits will be given out the week of homecoming (Wednesday, October 27th).
 - Fall Sale: The fall shirt sale will be a long sleeve gray t-shirt. Please let
 Christi know design ideas. Several were presented and many people
 liked the skyline of important buildings. The sale will be a preorder
 and the shirts delivered before homecoming.
- d) Policies and Procedures Committee Chair Lynn Wyman
 - MSU Staff Survey: Lynn is getting answers to the questions asked and will get back to the council. She will have the gift cards awarded for the random names drawn. It is the committee's desire that we can implement what we can from the survey so that staff see their voices are being heard.

- e) Communications Committee Chair John Michael VanHorn
 - BullyWatch: Please encourage nominations. There were no nominations for July.
 - Newsletter: August edition is coming soon.
 - Website, Facebook, Twitter: John Michael will see if anything needs to be updated. If anyone has suggestions on how to reach staff please let John Michael know.
 - MSU Heroes recognition of essential staff
- f) Awards & Scholarships Committee Chair Elizabeth Standley
 - Summer Awards: The committee has chosen the two staff awards:
 Jonathan Ceh and Alena Jones. The committee will meet to discuss updating the rubric.
 - Department Donations: Committee will meet to discuss how to obtain revenue and potentially increasing awards.

4. Ongoing Business

- a) Staff Council Constitution Revisions: Anna has this and is turning it into Kelly.
- **b)** Staff Development Conference: The council has reached out to Tamara and is waiting on a response.

5. New Business

- a) Staff Council on Telework Task Force: The executive council will meet with Julie Jordan and discuss the future options for being involved as they review policies.
- **b)** Anna noted that everyone has their committee appointments and encouraged everyone to allow your backup to attend at least one meeting so that they understand how it works and what is going on.

University Committee Assignments 2021-2022

<u>University Committee</u> <u>Staff Council Representatives</u>

Athletic Council: no meeting Ronnie White (Nicole Boyett)

Calendar Committee: no meeting Melissa Inmon (Jim McAdory)

Conflict of Interest: no response

Jessica Northcutt (Melissa Inmon)

Dining Advisory Committee*: no response Zac Ashmore (Nancy Wilson)

Employee Benefits Committee: no response

Melanie Chesser (Libbi Havelin)

Health and Wellness: no meeting Jordan Ramsey (Elizabeth Palmer)

Instructional Technology Advisory Committee: no contact Julie Burt (Dominique Belcher)

Parking and Traffic Regulations Committee: no contact

Sarah Carpenter Moody (Latara Arterberry)

Performing Arts Committee: no meeting Suzanne Parker (Veronika Jelinkova)

Recreation Advisory Committee: no meeting Catherine Williams (Jordan Ramsey)

Satisfactory Academic Progress Committee*: no response Jessica Northcutt (Cindy DeLoach)

Special Events & Game Day: no meeting Ronnie White (Sarah Carpenter Moody)

Sustainability Committee: no meeting Kenner Patton (Catherine Williams)

Traffic Appeals Committee: no contact Veronika Jelinkova (Lisa Dye)

Work-Life Balance Committee: no meeting

Julie Burt (Summer Mord)

^{*}not an official university standing committee

Staff Council Committee Assignments 2021-2022

Communications Committee

John Michael VanHorn – CHAIR

Jeffrey Guess

Dominque Belcher

Nicole Boyett

Sarah Carpenter Moody

Suzanne Parker

Cindy DeLoach

Policies and Procedures Committee

Lynn Wyman – CHAIR

Ronnie White

Latara Arterberry

Melanie Chesser

Nancy Wilson

Jim McAdory

Awards & Scholarships Committee

Elizabeth Standley – CHAIR

Veronika Jelinkova

Lateshia Butler

Elizabeth Palmer

Kenner Patton

Jordan Ramsey

Events Committee

Cristi Stevens – CHAIR

Julie Burt

Jessica Northcutt

Cedric Gathings

Lisa Dye

Libbi Havelin

Melissa Inmon

Zac Ashmore

Catherine Williams