

General Meeting Minutes

Date: November 9, 2022

Time: 10:30 AM-11:11 AM

Latara Arterberry P Zac Ashmore A Dominique Belcher P Joni Branning A Lateshia Butler A Melanie Chesser P Katie Corban P Jason Cory P Cindy Deloach A Lisa Dye P Orly Hardin P Libbi Havelin P Timothy Hopkins A Melissa Inmon P Veronika Jelinkova P Natalie Krol P Kelly LaSalle P Jim McAdory A Sarah Moody P Summer Mord P Elizabeth Palmer P Kenner Patton A Location: 301 Research Blvd

- Cindy Ratcliff P Chantel Solis-McCoy A Elizabeth Standley P Cristi Stevens P John Michael VanHorn P Anna Webb P Ronnie White P Catherine Williams P Nancy Wilson P Lynn Wyman A
- **1. APPROVAL OF OCTOBER MINUTES:** Melissa Inmon made the motion to approve the October minutes with John Michael VanHorn providing the second. The motion passed unanimously.
- **2. APPROVAL OF OCTOBER FINANCIALS:** Melissa Inmon made the motion to approve the October financials with Catherine Williams providing the second. The motion passed unanimously.

3. COMMITTEE REPORTS

- a) Chair Anna Webb
 - Master Plan and Develop Advisory Committee: no meeting
 - Alumni Association National Board: no meeting
 - President's Executive Council: The campus master plan was approved.
 - **o** OP 93.14 Free Speech policy was approved.
 - Affiliate Status and Lobbying policies were updated to correct titles.
 - Climate Study Working Group: All groups met the 30% reporting minimum. The next step will be looking at items to be addressed.
 - Standing Committee Review Board: no meeting
- **b)** Vice-Chair Jason Cory

- Faculty Senate: no meeting
- Faculty Housing Appeals Committee: Only one appeal was submitted and approved.
- President's Committee on Planning: no meeting
- Information Technology Council: no meeting
- Blue Cross & Blue Shield of MS Foundation: no meeting
- c) Events Committee Chair Cristi Stevens
 - Umbrella Sale: The umbrellas are on the website for sale.
 - Sweatshirt Sale: Everything has been delivered.
 - Biscuit Meet & Greet: can be taken off the agenda
- d) Policies and Procedures Committee Chair Lynn Wyman
 - Staff Survey January: no report
 - Staff Council Onboarding Committee: no report
- e) Communications Committee Chair John Michael VanHorn
 - BullyWatch: We have had submissions.
 - Newsletter: Please let John Michael know if there is anything to put in the newsletter.
 - Website, Facebook, Twitter
- f) Awards & Scholarships Committee Chair Elizabeth Standley
 - Department Donations/Fundraiser: A letter is prepared and will be distributed to deans and department heads to request donations.
 - Fall Awards: There were a total of 34 applications with 33 being eligible. The committee agreed to award 4 scholarships for \$300 to Amy Thompson, Walker Farmer, Gabby Smith, and Dana Cooper.

4. Ongoing Business

- a) 2022 Staff Development Conference Dec 12th, Old Main: Staff Council will have a table during the conference. Kelly will send a signup for volunteers to host the table. Jonathan and Melissa Rogers are the keynote speakers. Currently there are 36 breakout sessions.
- b) Graduating Staff Recognition: The recognition will be in June and cover August 22, December 22, and May 23 graduates.

- c) Giving Tuesday Foundation: John Michael will speak with the foundation about getting the correct fund associated with Staff Council and this will be advertised on the Newsletter and social media. Staff Council will do a drawing for a prize from the donors on Giving Tuesday.
- d) SC Meridian Meet & Greet Spring: This meeting will be in February and will serve as our February General Meeting. More details will come closer to spring.
- e) Brent Fountain and the firm Prophet are working on a new marketing and branding program for the university. This will redevelop how we present MSU in speech, print, and social media.

5. New Business

a) Staff Council is looking to have a letter voicing our concerns over the health insurance coverage and changes. It has been found that it should be addressed to the State Insurance Board.

11:11am adjourned

University Committee Assignments 2022-2023

University Committee

Ronnie White (Libbi Havelin) Athletic Council: no meeting Calendar Committee: no meeting Melanie Chesser (Jim McAdory) Community Engagement Committee: no meeting Lateshia Butler (Joni Branning) Conflict of Interest: no meeting Melissa Inmon (Natalie Krol) Dining Advisory Committee*: meeting Tuesday Nancy Wilson (Zac Ashmore) Employee Benefits Committee: no meeting Melissa Inmon (Libbi Havelin) Health and Wellness: no meeting Elizabeth Palmer (Cindy Ratcliff) Inclusive Excellence Leadership: no meeting Chantel Solis-McCoy (Veronika Jelinkova) Instructional Technology Advisory Committee: no meeting Katie Corban (Dominique Belcher) Parking and Traffic Regulations Committee: no meeting Sarah Moody (Latara Arterberry) Performing Arts Committee: no meeting Veronika Jelinkova (Zac Ashmore) Catherine Williams (Elizabeth Palmer) Recreation Advisory Committee: no meeting Satisfactory Academic Progress Committee*: no meeting Zac Ashmore (Cindy DeLoach) Special Events & Game Day Ronnie White (Sarah Moody) The Junction will open at 2pm on Friday. There will be multiple sports hosting events this day. Sustainability Committee: no meeting Kenner Patton (Timothy Hopkins) Lisa Dye (Latara Arterberry) Traffic Appeals Committee Between September 29th and October 27th there were 35 appeals. Many of these involved staff that purchased "any open lot" parking passes but park in the staff lots.

Staff Council Representatives

*not an official university standing committee **Staff Council Committee Assignments 2022-2023**

Communications Committee

John Michael VanHorn – CHAIR Zac Ashmore Dominique Belcher Sarah Moody Cindy DeLoach Jim McAdory Timothy Hopkins

Policies and Procedures Committee

Lynn Wyman – CHAIR Latara Arterberry Ronnie White Orly Hardin Nancy Wilson Melanie Chesser Summer Mord

Awards & Scholarships Committee

Elizabeth Standley – CHAIR Veronika Jelinkova Elizabeth Palmer Joni Branning Kenner Patton Lateshia Butler

Natalie Krol <u>Events Committee</u> Cristi Stevens – CHAIR Cindy Ratcliff Katie Corban Libbi Havelin Catherine Williams Melissa Inmon Lisa Dye Chantel Solis-McCoy