# Mississippi State University Staff Council Meeting Minutes

May 8, 2019 @ 10:30 a.m. Sanderson Center Conference Room

# ATTENDANCE: (P) = Present (A) = Absent

P - Amy Adkerson*	P - Nathan Gregory*	A - Leigh Stewart
A - Caleb Alford	P - Jan High	A - Jessica Thornton
P - Heather Andrews*	P - Angela Hill	A - Jason Townsend*
P - Zac Ashmore	P - Kelly LaSalle	P - Ronnie White
P - Amanda Baine	A - Paul McKinney	P - Tiffney Williams
P - Susan Brooks*	P - Suzanne Parker	P - Lynn Wyman
<b>P</b> - Julie Burt	P - Kenner Patton	
P - Austin Dillard	P - Chris Pulliam	
P - Tamara Gibson	P - Mashala Pulliam	*Executive Board
A - Stephanie Green	P - Yvett Roby	
A - Savannah Greenlee	P - Anna Sparks	

Guests included newly elected members for 2019-2020: Cristi Stevens, Catherine Williams, Yolanda Tate, Jason Cory, Lilli Harris, and Ardra Morgan.

**APPROVAL OF MINUTES:** The minutes from the April 2019 meeting approved. Motion was made by Tamara Gibson and seconded by Lynn Wyman.

**FINANCE REPORT:** The May financial reports were reviewed. MSU balance was \$23,822.49 and Foundation balance was \$18,832.70. The Scholarship fund currently shows \$39,966.93. Motion to approve by Lynn Wyman and seconded by Nathan Gregory.

**Guest Speaker:** The Council did not have a guest speaker for the June meeting due to having the end of the year luncheon to recognize retiring members and welcome newly-elected ones.

### **CHAIR'S REPORT (Susan Brooks)**

**The Alumni Association National Board** – Nothing new to report.

Blue Cross & Blue Shield of MS Foundation – Nothing new to report.

**The Faculty Housing Appeals Committee** – No appeals to review.

Faculty Senate – No report. May meeting took place during Staff Appreciation day.

**Information Technology Council** – No one from Staff Council was able to attend.

**Master Plan and Develop Advisory Committee** – An email vote was taken but the results are not final at the time of this meeting.

President's Committee on Planning – Nothing new to report.

**President's Executive Council** – NO report. May meeting was canceled.

# **VICE CHAIR/ EVENT COMMITTEE REPORT (Jason Townsend)**

Staff appreciation week/day notes

Issues to address for 2010 SAD: sound system issues; microphone in the BINGO tent; barricades around the door prize tent; possibly separating the door prize functions into two stations; add recognition of scholarship and Bully Watch winners to the program; stabilize the photo backdrop; vegetarian options ran out again; Snow cone generator was loud; and better communication about when the snow cone line will close.

## POLICIES AND PROCEDURES COMMITTEE (Heather Andrews)

No updates on stages to report.

# **COMMUNICATIONS COMMITTEE (Nathan Gregory)**

Nothing new to report.

## **AWARDS & SCHOLARSHIPS COMMITTEE (Amy Adkerson)**

Deadline for summer scholarship awards is July 5.

#### **ONGOING BUSINESS**

- Support Staff Conference Dec. 17, 2019 in Old Main Academic Center. SC and HRM working jointly. Planning committee will convene in July.
- <u>Staff Satisfaction Survey Subcommittee</u> There have been technical issues with the vendor, so they are making edits to the report. Results should be available soon.
- Search Committees
  - o Provost & Executive VP Dr David Shaw has been named
  - o Associate Dean of the Grad School Dr. Brien Henry has been named
  - Chief HR Officer Skype interviews will be conducted to choose 3 on-campus finalists for summer interviews.

#### **NEW BUSINESS**

- An online vote approved the wording changes to the constitution proposed by Executive committee to allow for the splitting of the events duties out of the Vice Chair position. It was discussed that each event should have a co-chair to help carry the load and get more members involved and familiar with the various projects.
- Executive proposed the following slate of officers:

Chair: Zac Ashmore

Vice: Nathan Gregory Sec: Amy Adkerson

Communication: Austin Dillard

**Events: Anna Sparks** 

- Staff Appreciation Day 2020 will be May 8.
- Issue of job requirements for lateral moves for exempt employees has been turned over to the Policy committee to work with the Provost & HRM.
- Newly-elected members were welcomed: Lilly Harris, Whitley Alford, Melanie Chesser, Catherine Williams, Ardra Morgan, Jason Corey, Yolanda Tate, and Cristi Stevens.
- Retiring members were recognized and presented a parting gift: Tamara Gibson, Susan Brooks, Jason Townsend, Leigh Stewart, and Chris Pulliam.

#### **STANDING COMMITTEE REPORTS**

Athletic Council - No meeting until August.

Calendar Committee - NO meeting

<u>Community Engagement Committee</u> –no report.

<u>Conflict of Interest</u> – no meeting

**Dining Advisory Committee** – no meeting

Employee Benefits Committee - no meeting

*Health and Wellness* – no communication

<u>Instructional Technology Advisory Committee</u> – no meeting

Parking and Traffic Regulations Committee- no meeting

<u>Performing Arts Committee</u> – no meeting.

<u>President's Commission on Status of Minorities</u> – no update.

<u>President's Commission on Status of Women</u> – planning to meet on June 24.

<u>Recreational Advisory Committee</u> – no meeting.

<u>Satisfactory Academic Progress Committee</u> – Six appeals last month.

<u>Special Events and Game Day Committee</u> – scheduled to meet on June 12.

<u>Sustainability Committee</u> – no report

<u>Traffic Appeals Committee</u> – 5 appeals handled via email.

<u>Work Life Balance Committee</u> – No meeting planned until August.

Respectfully submitted, Amy Adkerson, Staff Council Secretary